EU list of 10 high risk countries

Directive (EU) 2015/849 implemented by European Union to combat money laundering and terrorist financing to protect the financial system.


On 7 May 2020, the European Commission adopted a new delegated regulation in relation to third countries which have strategic deficiencies in their AML/CFT regimes that pose significant threats to the financial system of the Union (‘high-risk third countries’).


EU banks and other gatekeepers are required to apply enhanced vigilance in business relationships and transactions involving  these 10 high-risk third countries.


The EU list of 10 High risk countries include


  1. Afghanistan
  2. North Korea
  3. Iran
  4. Iraq
  5. Pakistan
  6. Syria
  7. Trinidad and Tobago
  8. Uganda
  9. Vanuatu
  10.  Yemen


Read more here